Another Awkward Week – Olympics Edition! [2.21.14]

Здравствуйте, друзья!

That’d be “Hello, Friends!” in Russian. Ohh yes, I’ve got a major case of Putin Fever. Juuust kidding he seems like a raging D but I do love me some ‘lympics so…Sochi 4 Lyfe. At least until like, mid-next week when the 2014 Winter Games are but a distant memory and I’ve moved on to some other temporary obsession.

But for now! It’s nothing but curling and speed skating and two man bobsledding round these parts and I maaaay have completely forgotten to document my ever-important life. So in honor of this XXII Olympiad, may I present, with limited comment…

Five Olympians Keeping It Awkward This Week:

Bob Costas

I mean….yes, your eye infection does seem uncomfortable but you’re only making it worse by incessantly talking about it. I think the appropriate action in these situations is to confidently power forward as though nothing is wrong, not call attention to the problem. I mean, that’s a move I would pull.

And if you’re behaving socially in a way Liz Ho might … you’re doing it all very, very wrong.

Jeremy Abbott

Too soon?

I know, I’m the worst. This poor guy just saw his life’s hopes and dreams and hard work crush beneath him on the ice and even managed to get up and keep skating and the closest I’ll ever get to the Olympics is right here on my couch eating tostitos but people face planting is never not funny.

Am I wrong?

(DIS) honorable mention along with Abbott: ALL of the male figure skaters. Allegedly the premier atheletes in their sport and not a single one made it through without falling?! A disgrace, I say. A DISGRACE.

This Kid

Strike One: With one exception for Anne Lamott, I strongly disapprove of white people with dreadlocks.

Strike Two: WHAT are you wearing. This is the Olympics, dude, show some respect!

Ok, mostly this awkwardness reflects upon me. The hijinks (see: gum chewing on the podium!) and “fashions” of slopestyle snowboarding have revealed what a deeply prudish and conservative granny I truly am.

Olga Graf

Unzipped her skating uniform and forgot she was 100% topless underneath. YOU GO GIRL!!

(Also: how is she speed skating sans sports bra? You srsly go girl.)

These Gods

Just awkward for the rest of us pathetic schlubs who have to wake up every morning and contend with the cold, hard truth that we’ll never ever be as perfect as Davis and White.

Annnnd the end. Gold Medal in the “Laziest Blogger Competition: Short Performance.”

What is your fave Olympic moment?? Let’s dish!

xoxoxo Liz Ho

7 thoughts on “Another Awkward Week – Olympics Edition! [2.21.14]

  1. I am not a gushy guy, nor do I normally succumb to mindless nationalism or sports-team ethos. But I work at a school, and yesterday the students got the afternoon off to watch Canada-U.S. women’s hockey gold. Awesome, right? But get this: I was watching it with a two-time Canadian women’s hockey Olympic gold medalist who works at our school. Podium Awesome! Yeah, it was wicked.

    • OMG. I would not have been able to contain myself. I only fall prey to mindless nationalism and sports during the Olympics and World Cup …though during both I do switch nationalities depending on which athletes are hotter and/or have the better (more tragic, obvi) backstory, so I’m pretty much just a bandwagon jumper. Which is to say, I’m very jealous that you are friends with a gold medalist! Even if she is from (shudder) Canada.

  2. Ahhhhh I was expecting another wedding blog! Just kidding! I am living vicariously through your wedding dreams, just so you know. And no, that wasn’t meant to be weird. 😀

  3. Due to a combination of a lack of reliable TV reception, cold living room and wifi that doesn’t withstand live streaming, I have sadly not seen a single moment of the winter Olympics. I have, however, loved all the Sochi Fail tweets. Particularly the ones where journalists have no idea what is happening with their hotels.

Leave a comment