Another Awkward Week [5.23.14]

Hey buddies! What’s up? It’s a long weekend, whoop whoop! Well, in America, anyway. Sorry foreigners. Sucks to be you!

I’m heading down to Pennsylvania for the weekend,  tomorrow I’m having a bridal shower (for ME!), hosted by my sweet Aunt Lena & cousin Lisa.  I’m so excited! And I’m excited that I’m excited which sounds nuts, but well, that’s me. For a while I was being kind of a weirdo about the whole thing – I thought everyone would think I was being really demanding and obnoxious, asking them to drive all the way to PA, when they already have to travel for the wedding, and would I look like I was just trying to get more presents. For someone who purports to LOVE being the center of attention, I’m sort of freaking out now that my moment in the spotlight has finally arrived!

Luckily I have some smart friends and family who reminded me that I am a lunatic and I might need to calm down. That it is OK and not annoying  to be excited about my wedding. That people are travelling not because I’m making them, but because they want to, because they love me, and love Brian and are happy to celebrate our impending union. It’s going to be such a lovely day with the most special ladies in my life and I’m already feeling very honored and loved.

And EXCITED. So excited that I’ve already said that word seventy-five times in just these four paragraphs! Get a thesaurus, Liz.

Fun fact: I have a really hard time saying that word, thesaurus. I always say suh-tharus, instead of the-saur-us. Ha! A few years ago I worked on a book about Roget, the guy who invented the thesaurus and the word was right in the title and every time I had to say it out loud I would get really nervous about messing up and inevitably mess up even worse and it was just horrifying. HORRIFYING! I totally forgot about that until just this moment and now I’m reflexively cringing, so embarrassed for my past self. GAH young Liz. It does NOT get better.

Ok enough rambling about bridal showers and thesarusues (thesauri?) and insanity. Let’s take a look at what was keeping it awkward this week.

 

This Dress:


20140518_084020

Worn to Brian’s sister’s graduation on Sunday and COVERED in coffee.

We drove from NJ to PA early on Sunday morning and packed bagels and to-go coffees with sturdy, closeable lids for the ride.Brian’s mom realized just moments after we pulled from the driveway that she had forgotten the roll of paper towels she meant to toss in, just in case anyone spilled.

“No worries!” chirped the grownup adult woman from her perch in the backseat. “We’ll be fine!”

I was pretty good for most of the way until just a few miles from the campus, when I precariously propped my coffee mug in my lap without fully closing the lid.

Suddenly, Brian called out from beside me: “Liz! Your mug is tipping!” So I did what any rational person would do when a hot cup of liquid is spilling over on their thighs which is to flail my legs even more causing the spill to go from a minor drip to a full on drenching.

REALLY coulda gone for those paper towels right then.

Saving graces: ’twas a dark dress and I found a stray shout wipe in  my purse! That baby did the trick and more, by the time we made it to graduation the only remaining trace of the incident was a lingering smell of coffee.

Eau de floor of a Starbucks after a long summer’s day.

Whilst at said graduation I acquired…

This Sunburn:

20140518_174612

First of the year! Complete with a weird little white stripe across the middle where my necklace was resting.

Happens every season!

I have to be careful this year…I have to somehow make it all summer without kooky tan lines, so I’m not covered in splotches and white patches in all of our wedding photos. I keep meaning to try my bikini top on under my wedding dress to see if I can wear it or need to get a new one. HA! Sounds insane butttt I think it is necessary. Maybe I’ll just have someone sew me a dress in the pattern of my wedding gown and wear that all day every day so I have absolutely perfect lines come August 16?

THAT would be insane.

(orrrr would it?!)

This Skirt:

20140520_181200

That is a thick layer of dust…apparently the French Connection in SoHo cleans their dressing rooms about as often as I clean my house. Aka: never.

I visited this store not once but twice in the past week, along with probably every single store in the greater NYC metropolitan area, on an epic quest for the perfect dress for this weekend’s festivities. I bought and returned and bought and returned several different options and ordered a few things online – one of which is lost in the mail and one of which is being held at a FedEx facility on 108th Street in Brooklyn. I didn’t even know there was a 108th Street in Brooklyn but apparently they is and they are holding hostage a sundress from Piperlime. Can’t wait to go pick THAT up.

After all of these shenanigans, I finally caved yesterday and splurged and spent basically all of my discretionary income on a dream dress from Kate Spade that I’d been lusting after for weeks. I’ve already justified the exorbitant expense,  by promising myself I will wear it at least three times a week until I die so basically this dress has pretty much already paid for itself. In fact, they paid ME! I hope everyone likes it as much as I do cuz y’all are going to be seeing a lot of it.

In other fashion news, check out the shoes I rocked all week…

These Moccasins:

20140521_074824

Yes, friends, that IS my big toe.

You may recall I shared these about a year ago when dat derre rip was juuuusssst beginning and here we are, a full year later and much much rippier (it’s a word) and I’ve yet to throw them out.

I’d get a new pair but I just spent all my money on that dress so…open toed moccasins: the hot trend for spring! You heard it here first!

This Band-aid:

20140522_132255

I’m finally getting serious about my nail/finger biting problem, I can NOT allow myself to have bloody, ragged fingers at our wedding, I just can’t.

My thumbies are my weakness, they’re just so easy to attack, so all week I’ve been wrapping my thumbs in band-aids in an attempt to save myself from myself.

Unbeknownst to me I purchased a box of “designer strips” which means these are no ordinary bandages, OH NO, but beautifully (“beautifully”) patterned fashion band-aids. So far this week I’ve rocked bandages that look like they’re bedecked in sequins, in black lace, in some kind of modern abstract art, and this one, my favorite, which had teeny tiny photos of models walking the catwalk.

WHO EVEN CAME UP WITH THIS? Why would someone want to wear bandaids with tiny little fashion models on them? They’re so small you can’t even see what they’re wearing! WHYYY is this even a thing that exists in the world and why do I own it.

Kids get Sponge Bob and Dora and grownups get mini little ladies shaking their little tushes on the catwalk. On the catwalk, yeah.

I’m to sexy for my bandaid, to sexy for my bandaid…

IF ONLY there was a designer band-aid for my brain that would make me into less of a weirdo. THE END of this madness, I am outta here. Have a spectacular Memorial Day weekend and if you think I’m not going to be back with a full report from my big weekend, you’re drunk. My mom told me it is traditional for the mother of the bride to buy her daughter sexy lingerie soooo that blog post can pretty much write itself.

Smooches!

Liz Ho

 

4 thoughts on “Another Awkward Week [5.23.14]

  1. Can’t wait to see the Kate Spade dream dress! But what I really want to know is whether “sweet” applied to only Aunt Lena or if it was a global “sweet” to extend to cousin Lisa as well? Hmmm. Love ya!

  2. That fashion model bandaid is crazy! And I can totally relate to the yearly sunburn in a weird pattern that lasts all summer. Have a great time this weekend!! Presents – eeeee!!

  3. Pingback: Another Awkward Week [7.3.14] | One Awkward Year

Leave a Reply

