One Awkward Wedding: Registration Situation

Yesterday marked exactly 4 months until #HottWedding (Hohenadel + Scott…just get on board, I’m making it happen) and I realized it’s been for-ev-errr since I’ve shared any updates on the planning! Mostly because I haven’t really been planning? We’re sort of at a lull in the excitement, between the long-lead and the last-minute. We’ve booked all the big stuff – venue, dress, DJ, etc – and aren’t quite ready to tackle the little deets like place cards and play lists, so most of our planning is just me reading wedding blog after wedding blog and my mom calling me with lists of random details she thought of in the shower and “just wanted to discuss quickly before she forgot” and me being like “Mo-ommmm lay OFF” and getting weepy and Brian wisely just staying out of the way.

But it’s all great! Seriously it’s totally great and honestly not even that stressful. Maybe because I’m not actually doing anything? Maybe because we only think weddings need to be stressful because that’s what the Wedding Industrial Complex wants us to believe?

Think on that!

Speaking of the blessed WIC, there is one Knot-approved activity we have thrown ourselves into wholeheartedly: registering. Like most traditional facets of wedding planning, I initially snubbed my nose at the idea of creating a standard registry. We had plenty of STUFF, I thought, and isn’t it a little antiquated, to ask for dishes and things in this modern living-in-sin era? We went back and forth on alternative ideas, like a travel registry or creating our own “experience” registry, asking for things like tickets to the NY Opera or the Mets  or forgoing gifts altogether (JK I wish we were that selfless but real talk: nope*) but in the end, none of those ideas really panned out. Travel registries cost money to set up and we have neither the technical skills nor the free time to build our own.

Lo, we threw ourselves headlong into the time honored tradition of Wedding Gift Registering and if there’s anything more fun in the world, I’ve yet to discover it. The power of striding through stores, registry gun in hand**, scanning item after item of silly things you want other people to buy for you? Can I do this all day everyday?!

And so, in a few short weeks, we went from modern minimalists who were going to register for “just a few essentials!” to greedy gift monsters with not one, not two but three traditional registries. Whoops?

Love may be all we need, but it turns out we want everything.

REGISTRY ONE: BED, BATH & BEYOND!

Highlights:

1) I was wearing this outfit, which I only noticed and documented because I realized I wore this outfit the day we were engaged and the day we went looking for venues and now the day we went registering.

20140309_143252

Apparently this is my go-to wedding ensemble. I should just return my gown and walk down the aisle in this ratty yellow cardigan. Save some $$!

2) Realizing that the overzealous registry consultant planned to tag along with us the entirety of our excursion, pointing out every last item in our wake.

Thank the lord Brian politely spoke up, asking him if we could do it on our own. I’m so people-pleasy, I probably would have just silently stewed, registering for every pricey thing he suggested, just so he wouldn’t feel bad.

Crisis averted!

3) The discovery of the As Seen on TV section:

20140309_162934

We need all of this!!!

4) This Frame.

20140309_165520

PLEASE if you own this I do not want to know.

Items I’m most excited about:

This little pitcher shaped like a cow

Onion Goggles (only sort of joking?!)

Cast Iron Skillet – BScott is a big fan of the cast iron!

At BB&B we managed to find most of the things we were looking for, except basics like dishes and silverware. I wanted plain white dishes but Brian said he didn’t like them…he prefers “cream colored dishes.”  Any specific sets you like, champ? No, just “cream colored.” Sure, sure.

And so, we left with a plan to visit some other retailer to finish off our list and then let many a week pass before we were able to make said visit, during which time whenever my mom would casually ask if we’d thought any more about finishing our registry I’d fly off the handle into a dramatic huff “I’M ON IT, MOM, OK?!?!” and that was a special and exciting time for us all.

And so we come to…

REGISTRY TWO: MACY’S!

Highlight:

1) Macy’s herself.

 Holy shit, gang. Have you ever been into Macy’s Herald Square? That place is enormous! And they sell EVERYTHING. Literally. You want it, you can probably get it at Macy’s. Beds. Car parts, probably. Grass seed. Rifles. Everything. I’m sure you’re all thinking this is obvious but I really never realized just how vast the Macy’s inventory is, or the massive size of their NYC flagship store.  What an amazing place!

We sat down with a consultant, Norma, and were (no jokes here!) highly impressed by their customer service and the many perks they give to people who register there, as well as the expansive amount of items they offer. I knew they had china and glassware but didn’t realize how many electronics they carry too. And many at cheaper prices than Bed, Bath and Beyond!

WHAT A PLACE!!!!

2) The man who came up behind Brian and creepily whispered in his ear “the trick to marriage, just agree with whatever she says” and then wandered away.

Thanks?

3) Visiting the 9th Floor where they sell furniture, rugs, clocks and luggage and the only way you can get there is via this creepy express elevator that drops you off in an abandoned hallway.

20140415_190208

Brian looks nervous. What do you think is scarier, the hallway or the weird lady following him around taking photos?

Probably the 2nd one.

4) The discovery of Stella 34, the Italian restaurant/bar on the 6th floor of Macy’s. Guys. This place is classy as HELL. A wood-fired oven, fully stocked, modern bar, the works. And it was packed to the gills with attractive people at 7 PM on a Tuesday night! Who are these people? Why would you go eat and drink in Macy’s?!

I’m so confused and also I really want to go there? Happy Hour directly next to the Martha Stewart Everyday Linens Collection? I can get down with that.

5) The horrified look on our consultant’s face when we returned, having registered for only plates, wine glasses and a dish soap dispenser.

“Is this it?” she asked, with a tone of abject horror typically expressed on teenage children when their parents reveal they’re getting an unexpected divorce.

We assured her we were planning to go home and add on more items, comparing against what we’d already registered for at Bed, Bath and Beyond and she told us she would “stalk us on email” if we didn’t.

Um, yikes?

I tease, but I can’t complain. We were legit very impressed with the whole operation over there at Macy’s and again, I repeat: who knew?! Probably everyone, but not us, so it was a real treat. If you’re planning to register for a wedding anytime soon, this joint gets two thumbs way up from the #Hotts

What I”m most excited about:

Le Creuset Dutch Oven – the same one Taylor Swift recently purchased for a fan. TAYLOR! MY SHOWER IS MAY 24TH!!! PLEASE COME AND BRING A LE CREUSET!!! I LOVE YOU!!!!

These Adorable Champagne Flutes

We made good on our promise to finish the registry from home (please don’t stalk us, Norma!!!) but still had a few items we wanted to add, namely luggage and power tools, and so…

REGISTRY THREE: AMAZON.COM

Highlights:

1) Creating an entire wedding registry from the comfort of my own home, without having to put on pants or interact with other humans.

2) Feeling gleefully smug over adding tools to our registry. How modern! Breaking expectations and gender norms! Boom.

Lowlights:

UGH AMAZON. 

What I’m most excited about:

Drill, baby, drill!

And now, I do believe, we’re set for life. We did leave off a few “Must Have” items that didn’t really feel right for our lifestyle, like formal china and crystal and the now ubiquitous Kitchen Aid Mixer. And we added a few things that felt fun and personal, like wine stoppers shaped like owls (I love owls. AND WINE!) and beach towels and about thirteen different pitchers, which Brian and Schmoops both told me was maybe too many pitchers. Too many pitchers? Impossible!

I’m cheesy excited about all of this STUFF. As much as I like to pretend to be a minimalist who’s so over tradition, I’m really looking forward to filling our home with beautiful new things, thinking about how we received them from our loved ones as we started our life together. AWW!

If you happen to be the sort of weirdo who takes pleasure in judging other people’s wedding registries (like me, for example), feel free to view ours at our website. Judge away!

And as long as you’re still reading this, might I ask for a little advice?

  • Do you have any secret kitchen gadgets or tools you LOVE love love?
  • Married people – did you receive anything unexpected you wish you’d thought of for your registry?
  • What kind of blender do you have? I’m totally torn on brands – we’re currently registered for the Ninja and I’ve heard rave reviews from a bunch of people, but also a few naysayers. I’ve also heard good things about the Breville. Any opinions from the crowd? And don’t say Vitamix. I know it’s the Cadillac of blenders or whatever (are Cadillacs still cool?) and of course I totally want one,but it’s just a little too aspirational at this point. Like, as much as I want to be the kind of person who makes my own organic cashew milk, let’s be real. See also: $700.
  • When you buy wedding gifts, do you always go with the registry or forge your own path? People have such strong opinions about this, I’m genuinely curious to hear your thougts!
  • If you do go off-registry, any unique suggestions you’re willing to share? THIS shop  is my go-to for wedding presents (SPOILER ALERT to all friends getting married this year!).
  • Do you know how to remove make-up from cotton shirts? This has nothing to do with wedding registries, I’m just curious…

And, as always, I’ve turned a short post into a Russian novel. The End! Happy Thursday, my fine friends. Thanks for reading – don’t you have work to do?!

xoxo Liz

* Obviously gifts are not actually mandatory, guests! If it’s a stretch to afford, we’d rather see your faces than a gift-wapped box. TRULY!

**while googling “gift registry gun” to confirm proper terminology I discovered there is a website devoted to registering for actual guns. SWEET lord have mercy on us all.)

12 thoughts on “One Awkward Wedding: Registration Situation

  1. I was registered at BBB, Macy’s and Crate&Barrel and I almost registered at Sears JUST so I could register for a drill and tool box. Luckily, my brother “heard” I was obsessed with the need for tools and bought it for me as a wedding present. So I’m glad that’s on your list.
    I love our griddle, which takes up a good amount of room but jesus you can cook a lot of pancakes on that thing. OR bacon, OR quesadillas, OR grilled cheese, etc etc etc.
    I also registered for and received a beverage chiller http://www.crateandbarrel.com/rapid-beverage-chiller/s678263?a=1552&device=c&network=g&matchtype=&gclid=CNX2oIXw570CFWEV7AodzgUADQ
    (i hope that link worked) because who thinks of the wine they want that night with enough time to put it in the fridge? and this way you save a few ice cube/don’t have to worry about watering down your wine.
    I wish i had registered for those gloves you wear when you grate things. because i only have 10 fingers and 10 nails and i would like to keep them in one piece and not shredded in my cheese.
    I never stray from the registry. you know how excited you were about adding things and the prospect of getting them? i like people to be just as excited when i get those things for them. if you want to stray i would at least get one thing from the registry and maybe a little something else?

    • A griddle! I’m still torn on that one. We don’t really do a lot of pancakes and have no space…but this wine chiller you mention. Say what! I think I need this.

      And it’s funny about the registry – I used to not really pay attention to them but now that I’m on the other side, I am all for staying on registry (or doing my standard cutting board!). I see why they’re kind of necessary/nice!

  2. I wasnt going to read this because it looked pretty weddingy, but then I thought, “Why should Brian have to got through this alone?” Look at him: with that haircut, he’s got a Brad Pitt in Seven Monkeys thing going on. That sign on the door might just as well say “Kiliing Floor.” I’m here for you, buddy!

    • Hey! I just read your whole post about GOLF and you wouldn’t read about weddings? Rude. Just kidding ;). I will not tell Brian you think he has a Brad Pitt thing happening, he’ll get a big head haha. It was a scary place, man. So scary.

  3. I like to get registry things because I know how much I wanted the things I put on there but Kevin likes to give money (which has been very useful for the honeymoon and house downpayment).
    Top three most used and awesome registry items: my nice knives, Le Creuset, and cast iron.

    • I like both of your styles. We’ll accept both August 16 😉

      (kidding, kidding!!) I’m excited for nice knives, too. And cast iron. I’ll be a regular Jenni T in the kitchen in no time!

  4. We recently got a Nutribullet and it’s pretty great. I can only aspire to vitamix opulence. Not going to happen in the foreseeable future! Anyways, the nutribullet is pretty cool and has some good marketing material videos. We registered at BBB and REI (cuz we’re crunchy like that). I thought the fiancé was going to implode when the sales associate started to follow us around. Privacy please, hello! Also, for some reason we got a lot of duplicates and got a ton ($600+) of store credit when I returned all that stuff! You’re forewarned!

    • We thought about REI, too! But then realized we’re not as crunchy as we thought haha. I didn’t even think about Nutribullet…back to Consumer Reports I go!

      Thanks for the tips!

  5. Pingback: Another Awkward Week [4.18.14] | One Awkward Year

  6. OMG!! The pitcher shaped as a cow. I have it!!! It’s my most coveted item!!! Also, I’m hooked on SCANDAL and can’t get anything done. Not even blogging. Barely work.

  7. Love the onion goggles since chopping onions can be a pain and the pitcher shaped like a cow since it reminds me of the cow in Lorelai Gilmore from Gilmore Girls, also love the title of the blog and the embracing of the awkwardness

Leave a Reply

