Another Awkward Week [12.6.13]

Hola, amigos! How was everyone’s Thanksgiving?! Or have we completel moved on past el dia del pavo and on to le mele Kalikimaka?

It’s my blog and I will misuse as many languages in one sentence as I see fit!

Mine was kind of hectic, travelling up and down Amtrak’s Northeast Corridor, but ultimately fun. The crown jewel of course, was the reemergence of the Turkey Hats. This year Brian got in on the fun. Clearly he’s thrilled.

IMG_20131129_173427

Welcome to the family, champ.

The other crown jewel, since the best crowns have multiple jewels, according to my close, personal BFF Her Royal Highness The Duchess of Cambridge Kate Middleton (or as I call her, Skip) (it’s an inside joke, you wouldn’t understand), was my 10 Year High School Reunion. It was truly a night to remember…though some parts are fuzzier than others. Open bar FTW. I’m in the midst of writing a comprehensive, insightful and obviously hilarious recap of that whole thang but that’s not quite ready for public consumption so for the probably one person eager to read that (Hi Ben!!!), ’tis coming, I swear.

I actually had high intentions to blog errryday in December (William’s calling it Blogmas!) but so far I’m 0 for 6. Wait, no, this counts, hah, so I’m 1 for 6! 

#MATH

I’m also completely unprepared with stories & photos for this week, so while we’re talking numerically, why don’t we just briefly take a look back at the facts & figures of the week that was. Some might call this a cop-out and I might call them correct. 

What Was Keeping It Awkward This Week: By The Numbers!

TWENTY-FOUR

The Number of blocks I walked after work last night to get my engagement ring resized, only to discover the jewelry store had up and moved locations.

 

SEVEN

Number of stops I then rode on the subway before I realized I was headed in the wrong direction.

 

SEVEN HUNDRED AND SEVENTY
Number of words I have written up about my high school reunion so far. WHOA.

 

JUST ONE
Number of strange European men who approached me in the subway this week, announced “What is the word! It’s the word! It’s a thing I learned in English, What’s the word!” and then ran away.

 

ELEVENTY ZILLION
Number of times consecutively that I have listened to Kelly Clarkson’s new Christmas JAM, Underneath the Tree.

 

EIGHT

Number of decorative Santas currently on display in my home. Plus 6 snowmen, 3 scented candles, a large felt banner spelling Merry Christmas and 2 stockings. And we’re getting a tree this weekend! It’s a Mother-Elfing Winter Wonderland up in this piece!

 

SIX

Number of times in a row I have now worn my one decent pair of black tights without washing them. Mom, please put some tights in my stocking this year, things are getting pretty disgusting.  

 

EVERY SINGLE ONE

Number of outfits I wore this week that now bear salad dressing stains.

 

THREE
Number of times I’ve taken this Which Love Actually Character Are You Quiz, hoping to learn some Real Truths about myself.

So far, I’ve learned I am like Annie, the Prime Minister’s head of house, you know, this bitch who calls Natalie “the chubby one”

 Annie lA

According to these results, I like being in charge and am good at making people happy. (At least one of those is verrry true.)

Quiz Two told me I am Karen aka the heroine of the saddest and possibly best (JK they’re all the best!) storyline in the film:

 Karen

 

This reveals that I’m “the type of person who loves to stay in on a snowy night with a glass of wine and an old record. You have a great sense of humor and would do anything for your family.”

That is actually true! Go me, I sound great. Except will this mean I end up crying while listening to Joni Mitchell, wondering if I should wait around to find out if it’s just a necklace, or if it’s sex and a necklace, or if, worst of all, it’s a necklace and love? Would I stay, knowing life would always be a little bit worse? Or would I cut and run?

(Is the fact that I can quote that entire scene from memory admirable or pathetic? Please don’t tell me.)

And the final time gave me the best possible answer: SAM!

 Sam

Apparently I am “creative, wise beyond my years, and very determined. I would break any and all laws to be with the one I love.”

Hell yeah! Now let’s go get the shit kicked out of us by love!

And that, my beautiful, unique snowflakes was my week. How was yours? What Love Actually character are YOU?!?!?!? Let’s just talk about Love Actually all day and forever and always and do nothing productive. Who’s with me?

Xoxo Liz 


24 thoughts on “Another Awkward Week [12.6.13]

  1. I took the test, I’m Annie; ‘You have a foul mouth and a big heart’. Guess the foul mouth comes from working in an office full of men, at least that’s my reason anyway! 😉

  2. Favorite. Movie. Ever. I got Karl – “Life is full of interruptions and complications, blah, blah, blah, you’re hot.” I guess I won’t complain, but it’s not quite as insightful as yours!

  3. I believe this is the word he was looking for:

    On another “Love, Actually…” note, without taking the test, I’m pretty sure I am the Martin Freeman character because I make people cringe and turn their faces away in embarrassment. Also naked. One more thing: does anyone else find the resolution of the Keira Knightly storyline unsatisfying? I know I can talk about this freely here because I just realized I am obviously a girl.

    • haha! And re: Keira’s story, TOTALLY. That’s your best friend’s wife! And Keira, you’re married! I mean…he needs to just nut up and get over her and she needs to not make out with anyone other than her husband on Christmas Eve, no matter how cute their confession of feelings might be. I call foul on all of them. And Martin Freeman is the man.

  4. Ok so Love Actually is pretty much one of the best movies ever!! It is on my Christmas to-watch list ever year and like you said each storyline is great! Now I think I gotta watch this weekend!

Leave a Reply

