Cohabitation Situation Information Updation

My dudes. Happy Friday! R. Kelly’s deeply poetic mantra “It’s the freakin’ weekend, baby” is speaking to me like never before.

Now is when I’d generally recap the week but I’m too excited to think about anything but the future because, you guys, tomorrow is moving day!

Que sorpresa, right? I won’t give you the whole long, boring story which mostly just involves a lot of instances of me panicking and creating dramatic worst case scenarios only to have everything work out just how I wanted, but my landlady in my current apartment (she of the epic holiday decor) either really loves us or didn’t want to have to be bothered to find a new tenant (I suspect the latter) agreed to lower the rent to a price point that Brian and I can afford so the two of us will be living in my beautiful THREE BEDROOM mansion of an apartment in Brooklyn. Which means I don’t have to move any further than the big bedroom down the hall, we don’t have to pay an exorbitant broker’s fee and we’ll have room to spare, and then some.

Basically, I’m a really lucky B and I should count my blessings a little more.

We’d had it in our heads that Brian would move in this coming weekend, but we’ve both been crazy busy and still haven’t, technically, signed the lease (it’s a long story, don’t ask) so it sort of popped up on us. We just confirmed with the landlady last night that this date is a go and so in approximately 24 hours we will be shacking right on up.

AAH!

I am ridiculously excited and yet, surprisingly blasé. I guess I assumed that somehow the momentous nature of our big move would be more palpable. The earth would shake or fireworks would explode or there would be a plane with skywriting reading “Liz! In 24 Hours Your Whole Life Will Change And You’ll Never Live On Your Own Again, Holy Shit!” but so far, none of that has happened and I’ve mostly just carried on as normal.  I just realized that last night was probably my last night ever sleeping in my own bed – tonight I’ll likely go over to Brian’s so I can help him move in the morning. (haha “help him move” aka stand around, be bossy and do no heavy lifting.)

I always thought my last night on my own would be momentous, portentous, dramatic. Instead it was relatively normal. I met a girlfriend for drinks in the neighborhood, came home, ate a tomato for dinner, took a cold shower and read a book in bed. The drinks were fantastic but the actual being at home alone part was, quite frankly, lonely and boring. So maybe it was portentous, then, in that way. By giving me a night as dull and pathetic as they come (you guys: I ate a tomato for dinner. A tomato! That’s it! On my bed, in front of a fan, alone.), my solo life was sending me off reassuring me that excitement lay ahead, that I wouldn’t really miss these drab, tomato nights.

I’m sure I’ll freak out tomorrow, or in a few days or even weeks…don’t you EVEN fret about that.  I’ve never navigated a life change without at least one melodramatic breakdown, I certainly don’t see this being an exception.

For now, I’m just curious about one thing. Help me out, fellow cohabitators. What do you do with your stuffed animals? HA! Ridiculous question, I know. You see, I have this friend named Winston. He’s a polar bear I bought at the Coca Cola factory on a trip to Atlanta to visit my cousin when I was in 5th grade. It’s funny, that was my first solo big-girl trip and I came home with toy, ha. Winston used to have a plastic  coke bottle in his hand, but it broke when he was stepped on during a dance party at a friend’s sleepover, making him all the snugglier, and since then he has travelled with me to college, to Belgium, to all of my NYC apartments and on nights when I’m sleeping alone, I sleep with him. I know I’m a grown ass lady but it’s comfortable! Tell me I’m not the only one?!

Brian and Winston totally get along (once we were setting up to watch a movie in bed and I went into the kitchen to get a water and when I came back, Brian had the laptop all set up and was sitting up with Winston sitting right beside him, like he, too was joining us for the movie and I died because Brian is so cute and weird and funny) and the poor bear has seen some things he can’t unsee if you know what I mean, unless he’s into watching, that dirty bear! But still, it’s just not normal to bring a stuffed animal into your wonen samen bed, is it? It’s not!

But I feel bad just abandoning him in the guest room (or the office! Check me out I have multiple rooms!) (ha I am the worst). I know that most people have long since weaned themselves off of their childhood talismans, leaving them catching dust in parents’ attics or childhood bedrooms, but Winston has been with me for the long haul and putting him away somewhere seems so…final. Like, this is it, you’re a grown-up now. Get on the big girl bus, next stop: menopause.

And now see… I think I AM freaking out about the big move! I’m just projecting all of my anxieties onto sadness over my teddy bear, which, upon further reflection, is mildly insane. But what can you do? We all panic in our own special and unique ways.

So that’s what’s up, friends! Thank you for reading this 83 paragraph essay about my teddy bear, this started as something so much more profound and took a pretty weird turn. In addition to the big changes, I’m coming off the nutsoist week and basically haven’t slept in 10 days. If I don’t shut this down now, who KNOWS where it might go.

The end, for now. This big adventure is actually just beginning! I promise I’ll do my best to make it slightly more interesting next time. Hoping you all have the most magical weekends. Don’t forget to hydrate!

winston

PS here is a cute picture of Winston tucked into my bed. True Life: I Am 28 And Play With Stuffed Animals.

 

12 thoughts on “Cohabitation Situation Information Updation

  1. You are FINE! I think we all have something. And how can you just abandon something you have loved for as long as you can remember? I think I would be more worried if you could easily set him aside.
    My friend was worried about her stuffed animals with her now-husband. Turns out, he also loves stuffed animals and finally she had to tell him if he brought another one into the house, he had to take one out. Their kids are going to be in stuffed animal heaven.

    Anyway, if this is what you need to freak out about, I understand! However, if this is ALL you have to freak out about, things will be ok.

  2. So: I once had this cool print of a water-skiing dinosaur. It travelled from apartment to apartment and finally into our big-boy-and-girl house. Then, one day, I forget how, maybe after a paint job, it just didn’t go back up. Did it get thrown away? Given away? I can’t even tell you. So keep Winston. When it’s time for him to go, you’ll know. I miss my giant but dreadfully tattered “The Kids Are Alright” poster and the life-size cardboard skeleton we left behind in a closet in Montreal. But I wouldn’t have a place for them in my life now.
    Good luck with the co-habiting and have a blast with this next phase of your life.

  3. I’m so glad you still have Winston. I remember when you got him on our trip to the Coca-Cola museum. I am 39 years old, have been with my husband for 7 years, have been for 5 years, have 2 kids AND I still have Jacks. Jacks is the beat up raccoon I slept with for the first 25 or so years of my life. Although since getting married, he lives in a box, I still have him and won’t part with him.

  4. I have this fantastic blankie (different I know but the same, because i’m almost 30 and sleep with my blankie) and it stays in bed with us all the time. I have more than once found my husband snuggled up with said blankie and laughed hysterically because he totally made fun of me for still sleeping with my blankie. ::deep breath:: I say keep him in bed with you. it will make you a stronger couple in the end:)

    A
    therowdyroberts.blogspot.com

  5. I have a carebear. Grumpy Bear to get more specific. He’s still around and I love him. Although, I’m not sure what it says about me that even as a child Grumpy was my favorite carebear. I was so weird!!

Leave a Reply

