Another Awkward Week [12.7.12]

Good morning, friends and lovers! How was everyone’s week? Mine was extra neurotic, as discussed yesterday, but today I’m feeling like a whole new gal. I’m headed to Pennsylvania for a wedding this weekend so I took the day off work. I’m going to pamper myself, Liz Ho style. So far I indulged in a gigantic hoagie for breakfast, spent way too much money on tights and lip gloss at Duane Reade and as soon as I finish typing this bad boy, I’m off for a manicure.What a day, what a day!

Now, without further ado, here’s what was keeping it awkward this week:

This Haircut:

20121204_081821Because yikes! I chopped off all my hair! I impulsively went for something bold then rode a wave of anxiety all week deciding whether I loved it or hated it,and have come down on the side of love. It was touch and go there for a while – directly after I got it cut I called Brian and told him to “prepare his face for positivity” just in case he thought it was terrible. But now I’m feeling good. Getting a drastic hair cut can be wonderful – you get lots of attention and random colleagues stop you to tell you how pretty you looks, but also, it can be terrible and nervousmaking. The WORST is when someone sees you and just says “you got a haircut!” and then stops right there, no follow up.Do you love it? Do you hate it? Why are you just tellin’ me something I already know? Sweet Jesus, don’t leave me hanging.

This Water Bottle:

20121206_174703

Because yes that is Donald Trump’s smiling mug emblazoned on the packaging. We went ice skating in Central Park last weekend – there is a great, not too crowded, inexpensive rink at the tippy top of Central Park which I’d totally reccomend for all you NYC readers or anyone visiting this winter and Donald Trump apparently gave a lot of ca$h monie$ to restore the rink because his name and face are plastered all over everything: the entrance, the snack stand, the walls and yes, even the water. What a classy, subtle man. And in case you’re wondering the water tasted disappointingly of regular, normal, poor person water and did not contain any floating pieces of gold.

This Week’s Adventures in Hosiery:

20121203_180008

Because why is this blog suddenly All Pantyhose, All The Time? I need to get my legwear under control. This week I went to the gym after work and realized I’d forgotten socks. I did consider reading this as a sign I should just head home and get in bet instead of running but my Holiday Season love handles spoke louder than my sockless feet so I just shoved my hose down as far as I could and hit the treadmill. It was not a good look.

This Snowman:

20121203_151827

Because I found him on my desk Monday morning, a lovely treat from a sweet colleague and moments later my assistant walked in on me with his whole entire head in my mouth just gnawing away at his chocolatey noggin. Attractive.

RIP, Mr Snowman. You were delicious!

This Tumblr:

http://yourllbeanboyfriend.tumblr.com/

Because it is hilarious and clever and yeah, I’ll go right ahead and say it: arousing. And that, as my friend Red pointed out, is where it gets awkward. As she noted, either LL Bean is stepping up their model game…or we’re getting old. It was just a few years ago that this esteemed brand was associated with lame old dads and now we’re entertaining impure fantasies of wild yet stylish cabin vacations with these plaid shirted, cable knit sweatered, sensibly belted, old, lame, dad-like dudes.

Yup. We’re old. Le sigh.

PS: this one totally looks like my actual boyfriend, score!

Aaaand, Best for Last…This Music Video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iGNIDXUaVts

Because, well, go ahead and watch and then we’ll discuss.

Ready?

It’s ok if it takes you a while…I had to pause every 20 seconds or so due to sheer secondhand embarrassment the first time I watched.

Ok, now that we’ve watched, a few questions:

  1. How much do you think this cost, 12 dollars?
  2. Where is this set, a bus stop?
  3. WHAT is on John’s face?
  4. And what happened to Olivia’s face??
  5. Are we supposed to buy that they’re like, in love?
  6. Have you ever been less enticed to imagine two people ‘making love all night…followed by postcoital weeping over a classic Christmas movie…in matching pajamas…??
  7. Does Olivia say someone’s going to be “swinging from the chandelier?” who? WHAT?

Ok, enough of that. Here’s a charming Christmas palate cleanser:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sWEfszb9h8Q

Girl’s still got it!!

And there you have it. Another awkward week in the can and just a few more until Christmas, can’t wait! Going to swing from the chandeliers and hang out at the bus stop all season long. What are you up to this weekend? Any exciting plans? You know I’d love to hear about them.

xoxo Liz

16 thoughts on “Another Awkward Week [12.7.12]

  1. Okay this is getting really weird – I cut all my hair off this week too!!! I love it and got lots of compliments but of course the one person I wanted a compliment from said nothing. Sigh. I love yours! Looks awesome, like Carrie’s hair in the last season of SATC. That Trump water is utterly brilliant. Did you see the Twitter fight he had with Sugar?

    • Oh my gosh, just looked up the Twitter feud – ridiculous!! (PS didn’t want to write this on your blog in case it was too obvious or something but here’s hoping that the person you wanted a compliment from gets it together b/c it’s is adorable!)

  2. Haha, I guess I’m officially old, too; I was searching for plaid shirts from llbean for my boyfriend… Good thing I got them for less at Kohl’s. Does that make me cheap, too? I prefer ‘bargain shopper,’ but to each his own. Love the hair!

  3. I was going to say that my friends and I were also ogling Bean models/their sweaters, but I realized it was actually Lands End. That’s basically the same thing though, right?

Leave a Reply

