Another Awkward Week [11.30.12]

Good morning to you all and happy Friday! What a long week. It was strange how early Thanksgiving fell this year (the earliest statistically possible! #math), that a week has already passed and we’re still in November. I dove headfirst into the Christmas spirit the moment Santa’s sleigh pulled into Herald Square last week and have been listening to Holiday Tunez and decorating all week – I recently downloaded that website / app/ whatever called Spotify mostly so that I could listen to Taylor Swift for free (I know, I KNOW).  It links to your Facebook account so all of your friends can see what kind of music you’re into. I’ve been getting ragged on all week for my Holiday endless stream of Christmas music,  which include copious amounts of James Taylor and the new John Travolta/Olivia Newton John album “This Christmas” (lol THIS COVER!). My pals are so rude! Olivia N-J is a living treasure, these people wouldn’t know Holiday Spirit if it punched them in the face. Which it wouldn’t. It’s far to sweet for that!

 

Moving on! Here’s what else was keeping it awkward this week:

This Pen:

pen

And not just because this is the corniest picture I’ve ever taken. It’s a wonderful pen with flowing purple ink. I always leave pens and markers uncapped on my desk and get ink all over my arms and shirt sleeves. Well, yesterday, I went to the ladies room and pulled down mis pantalones and saw I had purple ink on my LEG. On my upper thigh. Hence a photo of the pen, not the ink stained leg, this isn’t that kind of blog. HOW did it get there?? The pants were black (one of the 3 pairs of skinny black pants I wear every day on rotation), so I couldn’t see if there was purple smeared all over them. Did I black out and stick the pen down my pants? I don’t think I’ll ever solve this mystery!

These Nylons:

stockingsBecause I realized while doing laundry this weekend that I have over a dozen pairs of nude knee-high pantyhose. What woman under the age of 84 needs that many pair of flesh toned stockings? Me, apparently. ❤ each and every pair. I also realized that it’s not easy to take a photo of a pile of nude pantyhose, so I tried several angles and backdrops and then made this beautiful collage. DO feel free to print out and frame. It’s the perfect holiday gift for all of your loved ones!

This Pillow: 

etsy

Because YES it is embroidered with a giant image of Martha Stewart’s face. Creepy? Yet adorable. Etsy has a Holiday Pop Up Shop in SoHo in NYC for the next two weeks, I stopped by last night and spotted this beauty.  I actually totally love it and want it, please. If you’re in NYC I’d recommend stopping by, it’s a great place to look for gifts! They are not yet selling my beautiful knee-high pantyhose portrait series but do have lots of other cute stuff. I got THE most perfect lil gifties for my godson and his brother, I can’t wait to share!

This CD: les mis

Because it arrived for me earlier this week and, when not rocking out to All I Want for Christmas is You, I’ve been listening to this bad boy and yes, I’m not afraid to admit, occasionally signing along. Oh, did I mention this has been happening in the workplace? My colleagues adore me. But I can’t stop, I’m OBSESSED, just 26 more days til the movie comes outtttt, but who’s counting. I’ll have some deep thoughts on Les Mis for y’all next week. If you’re not familiar with this epic musical, I’d suggest you spend the weekend catching up.

Also awkward: a friend reminded me this CD is available online, and for free and asked who still buys actual CD’s anymore. Apparently the same people who own 67 pairs of nude pantyhose, that’s who… It literally never even occurred to me to download this online. Hah! Welcome to the 21st Century, Liz.

This Hairball: 

wig

Because it’s just a harmless wig, but it looks grotesque and scared me witless earlier this week. You may have noticed I never shared my Halloween costume here with y’all, because it wasn’t as grand (or nearly as nude) as years past. In totally un-Liz Ho fashion, I put something half assed together at the last minute and went as Taylor Swift, with whom I am apparently now obsessed. It was actually pretty cute, even thought basically no one knew who I was supposed to be and one gal even called me Hanna Montanna. Sigh.

swifty

Anyway! The coupe de grace of the whole costume was that blonde wig, which I  tossed in the back of my closet after Halloween night. Earlier this week I was crouched down, digging through my closet for winter clothes and spotted that grotesque plastic bag of hair lingering in a dark corner. I thought it was an animal, screamed, and fell over backwards. Terrifying! I might need to do some home organization this weekend…

And there you have it, folks! How was your week? Did you do anything ridiculous? Do you love James Taylor? Did you buy me a Christmas present yet?

xoxo Liz

3 thoughts on “Another Awkward Week [11.30.12]

  1. I always have the stray pen marks on the upper thigh. It’s from putting the pen in your pocket and every time I see the marks for the first time of the day I freak out for about a second and a half until I remember what it is…working in a hospital you can catch some crazy crap.

  2. The question is, how many pairs of normal pantyhose and thigh highs do you have in the stowed away in the drawer now!? 🙂

Leave a Reply

