One Awkward Full Blown Mini-Break Holiday Weekend

“Hurrah. Am no longer tragic spinster but proper girlfriend of bonafide sexgod, so committed that he’s taking me on a full-blown mini-break holiday weekend.

 This can’t be just shagging. A mini-break means true love.  Suddenly feel like screen goddess in manner of Grace Kelly.

 Though perhaps ever so slightly less elegant under pressure.”

—      Bridget Jones

 

A few years ago I told one of my aunts that I worked in book publicity and her first response was “Oh! You’re just like Bridget Jones!” Initially I was mildly offended but upon further introspection have realized that Bridget is kind of the archetype for awkward, hilarious ladies, so I now consider it my greatest compliment ever.

 

Anyway, the point of all this is that I’m going away for a romantic mini-break holiday weekend with Brian and can not wait. We’re going to Vermont and we’re going to hike and bike and snuggle and eat maple syrup and, I’m sorry, I see I’ve made you vomit.

I’m not great at talking about love and romance in any serious capacity. One of my friends teases me that every time I mention anything even remotely sweet or cutesy or lovey about my boyfriend or the two of us as a couple I throw in some sarcastic and self deprecating comment about how gross or lame it is.

“We just said I love you for the first time, isn’t that disgusting?!”

“Ugh, sorry this is so gross, but Brian got me the nicest Christmas present.”

I don’t know why I do this! I guess I’m so used to being in tragic spinster mode that I am uncomfortable expressing romantic affection in a genuine way?

Or maybe I’m just a weirdo? This morning I woke up and the first thing that popped into my head was “Oh yippee, today at 5 I get to leave the office and tell everyone ‘I’m off to V-T with my Sweetie!!’”

Good god, Elizabeth. No. I knew there was a reason that romance (ew, sorry!) was so terrible: I’ve started speaking in RHYME! I also told myself I’d never actually say that VT/SweeTee thing to anyone but here I am, sharing it with the internet.

Let’s all just watch some more Bridget Jones and forget this ever happened…

4 thoughts on “One Awkward Full Blown Mini-Break Holiday Weekend

  1. Liz! I went to Vermont with Jeff last May and it was our first trip together. We had such an amazing time and it was really romantic, (I know, gag). Have fun!

Leave a Reply

