One Awkward Online Date – An Intro

Hello, readers. I’d like to introduce you to new and recurring segment to this here blog: One Awkward Online Date. Except it will actually (god-willing) be lots of awkward online dates, but I have to keep with the theme. So just go with it.

Due to a variety of circumstances, including boredom, mild to moderate desperation and an intense need for some attention, I’ve decided to turn to the interwebs to git me a mans. Many people I know have had great success in this arena and I figure it can go one of two ways:

1.) A plethora of available men leave me so oversexed I can’t walk for weeks, until I eventually come across ‘The One’ and settle down for a life of white-picket-fenced bliss.

2.) awkward blog material.

It’s a win-win situation.

So, with the hopes of increasing both my love life and my blog life, I’ve decided to take on the challenge. I will test out a variety of online dating sites and report back with my ever-awkward findings.  So far I’ve been wading in the waters of OK Cupid, mainly because it is free. If I wanted to pay for love, I’d hire a gigolo. But, because this is a majorly important sociological experiment,  and you, my faithful readers are counting on me to be the best and most awkward I can be, I will eventually test out more sites. Even the expensive ones. It’s all for you guys, really.

In the words of the ever-wise Tobias Funke: “Let the great experiment begin!”

4 thoughts on “One Awkward Online Date – An Intro

  1. I’ve really never been more excited. While I’m all for you finding ‘The One’ I really hope he takes a few months to arrive, because it will make this challenge so much more fun. Yes, I’m rooting for your love life to fail, apparently. Sorry bud!

  2. Liz, this sounds amazing. I’m looking forward to hearing alllll about these “awkward” experiences.

    I’ve missed your stories!

  3. ps. are you still doing stand-up comedy at all?
    we do an open mic comedy at merge every wednesday… If you’re ever in Buffalo, I think some of this “awkwardness” would make for some great material.

    by the way, isn’t awkward an awkward looking word?

    get it girl.

  4. “so oversexed I can’t walk for weeks”…that is amazing. ps I’m obviously catching myself on your blog and am thoroughly entertained. I wanted to comment on many things but this one really got me. this may also be stalkerish that I’m reading your “awkward year” as a novel but I know you’ll understand because stalking is an art form that we excel in. only dorks and suitiebuckets get it and it’s totally acceptable 😉 miss ya

Leave a Reply

