Another Awkward Week [3.7.14]

Guten Morgen, Jorgens! That might be German…might be gibberish.

How was everyone’s week? Mine was fast and productive, just the way I like it, wink. Sorry, gross.  I actually played hooky on Monday…except it was my boss’s idea (apparently my fragile emotional state is more obvious that I’d like to admit?!) (don’t worry, I’m finally seeking profesh help…more on that later) (parenthesis!) so it was less hooky and more approved personal day but, tomato tomahto. It was amazing. I slept in, until 8:30, which is late for me, did 4 loads of laundry, including our kitchen floor mat which, do you guys wash your kitchen mats?? How often? I think this was the first time since we moved in last August yiiiiikes. I did a little writing, which I promise you’ll see soon, cooked a healthy meal, cleaned out my closet, caught up on Scandal, it was divine.

I then came back to work on Tuesday and have been Getting. Shit. Done. Boom!

So! If you can get away with it, professionally sanctioned or no, I’d highly recommend sneaking in a mental health slash get your life together day. I feel so much more on top of everything, calmer, clearer-headed. It’s a miracle!

Never fear, though, productive certainly does not mean smooth, so why don’t we go to the tapes & take a look at what was keeping it awkward this week.

This Dinner:

20140306_183902

Did y’all know that yesterday was the 50th Anniversary of the Invention of the Buffalo Wing? Move over Wright Brothers, Steve Jobs, etcetera…Teressa Bellissamo is truly America’s greatest inventor.

As you know, I love buffalo wings almost as much as I love my own family, but I didn’t know about this anniversary until late yesterday afternoon, when my friend Kathleen emailed me a link and suggested we should celebrate. I told her I wouldn’t be able to last night…

Why? She asked?

I had to go home and put away my laundry…and I had turkey defrosting that I really should cook so…

29 going on 64.

Shut it down.

Kathleen helpfully stepped in with a You’re in your 20′s, Childless, in one of the Greatest Cities in America, Live a Little Intervention, and we celebrated like kings! Greasy, meat-eating kings.

It’s important to surround yourself with good friends who will remind you how lame you are.

These Boots:

20140307_071512

Reason #19086 this godforsaken winter needs to come to an end: I have actual holes in the bottom of my shoes. I look like I just stepped out of, like, Angela’s Ashes. I’m too cheap/lazy/sick of winter apparel to get a new pair so…hurry on up, spring, there’s snow seeping into my socks!

This Still Life, With Garbage:

20140306_221104-1

Last night I spilled some water in my purse, as one does, and when I dumped out the contents to dry them off, realized I had a lot of, shall we say, useless trash floating around in there.

I am always fascinated by these clearly staged bits that fashion mags do with celebrities where they ask them what’s inside their handbag and the answer is always like, La Mer Handcream (is that even a thing?) and some antique gilded compact mirror that their great-grandmother got from Marie Antoniette herself and 3-5 shades of Nars Lipstick and exactly zero old bandaids or anything a (hopefully?!) normal person might carry around and even though I know it’s all fakey-fake, I can’t help feeling a little blue about my own nice possessions, or lack thereof. No Mas!

Wihtout further ado, here’s what I, Liz Ho, Normal Person, carry around in MY handbag:

Basically L-R, from the top:

Row 1: Pack of tissues printed to look like a snowman, PILE of used tissues, cortisone cream for bug bites, a pile of work papers and on top of them a plastic mermaid and a plastic cactus that were put in my margarita a happy hour many weeks ago and I thought were cute so I took them home, wallet

Row 2: post-it note from one of my many trips to the T-Mobile store where I apparently practiced writing my current name and possible married name in cursive (busted!), two notebooks, one of which started as an old food journal during my cleansing days so in between to-do lists are lists of what I ate and when and then also the exit portion of the digestive process; a salt grinder from Trader Joe’s, ONE nude knee high stocking

Row 3: Shout Wipes, hair clips, a packet of bandaids + a few floaters, my blackberry which has not worked in weeks and I keep meaning to get fixed but I love the feeling of freedom that comes from not being able to use it, a travel container of earplugs, my kindle (currently reading a new Sarah Waters novel, coming in September!), on top of the Kindle we have a paring knife which Brian saw and asked me why I was carrying around a shiv,  and a number of old reciepts, several of which are from the wine store

Row 4: An assortment of feminine hygiene products, a promotional screen cleaner that my mom got at a conference and put in my stocking, used Amtrak ticket, stub from a reimbursement check from work, some kind of letter from the health insurance company

Row 5: expired Starbucks gift card, smashed piece of caramel, two empty birth control packets + one currently in rotation, one zillion pens, old nail file that is too worn down to file

Annnnnd THERE YA HAVE IT! What’s in YOUR purse? I’m seriously dying to know. The Hairpin did a great series of this a few years ago…let’s start another!

This Gift:

Ok…I need to start this with some text & lead up to the good stuff.

I’ve mentioned our landlady here, she of the amazing decor, and I fear I’ve come off snarkier than I mean to be. I genuinely treasure her, she’s been a fantastic landlord and I appreciate living in the most festive house on the block. We’re going to have to move this year, a fact which I will discuss with you later, as I am currently repressing it, so I think we’re all getting a little sentimental.

Por ejemplo, Connie is super excited that we’re getting married, which is adorable, and this past weekend, I opened our apartment door to find a gift bag hanging on the handle.

What could it be?! ‘Twas a gift from Connie.

I first pulled out a beautiful card in a silver envelope , reading “Elizabeth & Brian, I’m going to miss you guys…as you see, I’m making a prediction…”

A prediction?!

From the bag, I pull two frames, wrapped in tissue. The first, a gorgeous, sparkly silver frame, the kind in which you might put your formal wedding photos. I love it!

The second, well, see for yourself:

20140306_220256

Guessing the prediction is baby related? No pressure. I thought the baby questions would wait until at least a day or so after the wedding.

I told a friend about this last night & she said now I’ll probably think of Connie every time we’re getting busy. Hadn’t taken it that far, pal, but now I sure will. Hopefully those multiple packets of BC I’ve been carrying around do their job and this predic doesn’t come true for many, many a year.

I do tease, but seriously how sweet is this? Commence WHY MUST WE MOVE?!?! panic in 4-3-2-1…AAAH!

And that, good sirs, was my week! What are you all up to this weekend? Conceiving some children, maybe? Good luck with that! I’m going to a work event tonight (voluntarily! Toldja I was on the up & up!), hopefully running outside, as the temps may finally rise above 31 farenheit, and Briguy and I may possibly do a little wedding gift registering so fire up those credit cards, America, mama needs a new paring knife, she’s been using hers as a shiv!

Hoping you have a delightful weekend, whatever it may entail and don’t forget to Spring Forward!

xoxoxo Liz Ho

8 thoughts on “Another Awkward Week [3.7.14]

  1. I totally took a mental health day last week! Mine was at the Four Seasons spa and I’ve never been happier. Champagne, a massage, and a facial did the trick. Ever since high school when my mom would randomly check me out to go shopping or have lunch I’ve taken a few of those here and there. It’s in everyone’s best interest!

  2. I saved a week’s vacation starting a week from today. Reading week, mental health week, take-a-break-before-you-shiv-somebody week, call it what you will, but I can’t wait to do nothing.

  3. I had a mental health day on Monday as well, only in Memphis it’s called “OH MY GOD IT SNOWED AN INCH!!! FOR THE LOVE OF GOD DO NOT LEAVE YOUR HOUSE TO COME TO WORK, ALL SCHOOLS ARE CLOSED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE, REMAIN CALM PEOPLE REMAIN CALM”. Which I also called “lay in bed all day next to your fiancee while working and feeling kinda like grandparents from Willy Wonka day”.

    Secondly, I also carry a shiv in my purse, Bluff city was until last year a top ten most dangerous city in the U.S. a girl cant be too careful.

  4. I never feel like I’m productive enough. I guess that’s a problem for a lot of writers. It would be nice to make at least five dollars from all this work!
    Love the baby frame! That is really awkward!!! Pressured much???

Leave a Reply

